Competition

22 01 2009
...so sexy....=-)

MacBook Air...so sexy....=-)

I’m going to have to put the brakes on my bike habit for a while.  My Mac is coming up on 3yrs old and I’m starting to long for something more portable than my 17″ MacBook Pro.  I’m not 100% on this, but I wouldn’t be shocked if this was my next significant purchase.  I am turning 40 soon and I deserve a nice celebratory self-present…LMAO….I can rationalize just about anything.  I suppose when you have 8+ bikes in a small downtown apartment you must have pretty good rationalization skills…=-)


Actions

Information

27 responses

22 01 2009
Stephen

Vik-

Only eight bicycles? You wheenie! You should get into model trains.

/stephen

22 01 2009
thelazyrando

I was into RC cars and bikes are cheaper and way healthier for me!

22 01 2009
stewart

Hi Vik, i saw your comment on 8 bikes and it made me think of what i (selfishly) think would be an interesting blog post: what about showing us how you store your bikes and transport them out onto the street etc. Living in Europe (Netherlands) where you tend to have small amount of space, i am amazed that you manage 2, nevermind 8 bikes! how do you deal with bringing a dirty bike from the street to your apartment etc…

ps those airs are thin, arent they!

22 01 2009
thelazyrando

Hey Stewart,

I can do that. =-)

22 01 2009
Zyzzyx

Ah yeah, the bicycle acquisition habit. I’m nowhere near yours, but have done a couple big ones recently (Rans Street w/ Xtracycle, and the Quest). I’d love to get the next ones on my list (Barcroft Oregon, BF tikit), but like you, its likely that they’ll be on hold for a computer purchase.

I’m not a Mac guy though, I’m looking at an ASUS EEE PC. Hook it up to external stuff for use as a main system, then have a nice small netbook to take with me, wherever. Hmm… take with me. Would be even easier to do that if I had a tikit. Yeah…

You were saying something about rationalizing? ;)

22 01 2009
thelazyrando

Hahaha….Ian your Quest alone is worth more than most of my bikes combined!

22 01 2009
Zyzzyx

Maybe so, but I’m blaming you (or maybe thanking you) that I have the tikit on my list. Can’t say as much for the XtraStreet, as I was already looking at the X, and the RANS bikes, but your Street did push me towards that model. ;)

22 01 2009
DrewInBalto

Hi Vik,

Note the battery life on that MacBook Air. I was considering getting one since I’ve become smitten with MacOS. It’s hard to keep a journal while touring if you can only be away from a plug for two hours.

Drew

22 01 2009
Catastrophysicist

We’ve been dragging the 15in MacbookPro across the country with us. . . we would LOVE an Air!

22 01 2009
thelazyrando

The battery life isn’t great, but I wouldn’t take it on tour with me. I like to travel light and tight so a computer is not going to make the cut unless there is some special reason I need one on a tour.

I’d use to be mobile in Calgary and when I travel by car/plane/bus/train, etc…

I’d like longer battery life, 2hrs is okay for my needs.

23 01 2009
Al

Heh Vik,

First of all, congrats on hitting 40 soon. Its the new 30 so they say- dont believe them! Hello reading glasses and all…

Just to let you know that you are not alone in having that many bikes. Just ordered no 9 here in Perth, Australia! But at least they are kept in 3 diff c’tries for now. How do you keep yours in one single apt? You must be so orgz.

Al :)

23 01 2009
Otto Van De Steene

Indeed a light computer to bring with you on tour. I was also thinking about that. But think about the heat. The macbook air can’t do very much to begin to overheat…

I’d only choose this for surfing the web and do the light photography stuff, but not more than that. Start Photoshopping and the heat would overtake performance…

Otto

23 01 2009
thelazyrando

Hey Drew – apple is claiming 5hrs of battery life for wireless web surfing.

http://www.apple.com/ca/macbookair/features.html

Not sure how that would translate to writing trip reports in Word or editing photos in iPhoto, but it sounds decent.

http://www.apple.com/ca/macbookair/specs.html

Is there some scam going on here actual performance is really only 2hrs?

23 01 2009
Julian

Vik asked: “Is there some scam going on here actual performance is really only 2hrs?”

Vik, I would call that marketing….

23 01 2009
KenF

Vik,

Another downside to the MacBook Air. Currently non standard disk drives, and a limit on i/o ports.

23 01 2009
thelazyrando

Well if Apple says that it will run for 5hrs and it runs for 3.5hrs – 4hrs I’d call that marketing. If they say 5hrs and you can only get 2hrs that would be a scam.

I own 3 Apple products and I wouldn’t say any of them were grossly misrepresented in the marketing material.

23 01 2009
Daniel N. Lang

Hello Vik, I guess I would have been happy to have a Mac Book Air or any portable laptop _with_ USB 2.0 with me on tour.
I had an old iBook G3 600 MHz which I’ve had for 5 or 6 years already, on the last 5 months of my tour and it was just so terribly slow. Everything took ages and that’s too bad if you want to cycle and not spend days and days in front of the screen.
For home I don’t need that. I’m happy with what I got now, a decent, solid, T61 lenovo laptop that’s almost the same as my old Z60m. It works fast, quiet and that’s what I need, nothing more at the moment. Portability is also not too important.

23 01 2009
Julian

fair enough Vik…
I’ve only got my Ipod to go by, and it’s battery life certainly isn’t close to what is claimed on their literature…but having said that battery life is definetly a function of age and use…

23 01 2009
thelazyrando

Well I solved the bike vs. computer budget dilemma…I took my boss out for lunch and convinced him I was worthy of a new laptop after 3 years since my last computer upgrade. Now I can go back to buying widgets for my bikes…=-)

I won’t clog up my bike blog with MacBook Air nonsense so I’ll drop a comment or three on this thread for anyone that cares to read so that the rest of the folks can just stick to bikey posts.

I just loaded MS Office for Mac via remote DVD drive on my 17″ MacBook Pro….very fast and very seamless. I like the uber quick wireless standard.

23 01 2009
Tamia

Hey Vik! Welcome back from Baja.

On Mac laptops… I’ve owned them since the mid-1990s and love them. The MacBook is thicker than the Air but has a Firewire 400 port and two USB ports, so backing up work isn’t difficult. Mine gets about six hours on the battery if I’m not doing heavy graphics or web work. It’s kind of the LHT of laptops.

23 01 2009
thelazyrando

I used the MacBook Air tonight on and off for 6hrs at a friend’s place surfing the web watching videos. When I left I had 1 bar left on the battery status and the power estimate was 1hr left. Not bad. I think 3.5hrs to 4hrs of fairly continuous web browsing is realistic.

23 01 2009
thelazyrando

My MacBook Pro 17″ is a great laptop and has been my main desktop personal computer for the past 3 yrs…virtually all my blog posts are done on it. I have very few complaints other than it’s large and heavy…not very mobile – especially since I have it plugged into so much.

25 01 2009
Otto

I would use pages from iWork in place of MS word. It would drain your battery much less than word, and it is just made for the mac…

26 01 2009
DrewInBalto

I think I got the 2 hours from a cnet or pc mag review. I’m encouraged by the reports here, especially if you can do your writing and mapping with the wireless off to save juice.

I have an older Thinkpad X40? that typically gets 10 hours with an extended battery. MacOS is really nice, though.

27 01 2009
thelazyrando

Drew…I’d say 2hrs is the absolute minimum doing lots of power hungry stuff…5hrs is fairly optimistic and probably not achievable for most people. The truth is probably 3-4hrs….although I haven’t tried to shut off the radio and just type a blog entry. I’ll have to try that and report back.

27 01 2009
thelazyrando

This CNet Macbook Air review pegged the battery life at ~4hrs mixed use which seems reasonable. Note the review is a year old and the Air being sold now had different tech specs….however, I agree with the points they raise.

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/apple-macbook-air-80gb/4505-3121_7-32818756.html

Connectivity is an issue you need to be aware of…for me this is my 3rd laptop with a dedicated work PC laptop and a dedicated personal Macbook Pro so I have the luxury of picking and choosing. What made me keen on the Air is that my other laptops are both heavy 17″ monsters that have desktop replacement power, but poor portability. So the Air fits the bill when I want to grab a computer and go to a friend’s house, hang out at a coffee shop or even just do my web surfing in bed.

27 01 2009
thelazyrando

Here is another review from last year pegging the battery life between 3:15 and 4:30hrs.

http://gizmodo.com/348753/macbook-air-review

I will say that the only things I’d ask of the next generation MacBook Air to stay with this product for another iteration is double the battery life so I could basically forget about the battery status entirely and a blistering fast wireless modem.

Leave a Reply

