Bike Friday New World Tourist – Part 1

20 01 2009
All the ingredients for a Bike Friday New World Tourist

All the ingredients for a Bike Friday New World Tourist

It probably comes as no shock to anyone that I got a Bike Friday New World Tourist [NWT].  I’ve been a big fan of their Tikit and have been interested in their line of custom travel bikes for a while now.  The NWT is a classic design that has seen touring duty all over the world.  I wanted to see what the slightly larger and stiffer NWT would be like to tour on compared to my Tikit and my full size touring bikes.

One of the hardest parts of the process was deciding which Bike Friday model to get.  I like their Air Glide and Pocket Llama models as well as the NWT.  Although the titanium beam Air Glide is a cool design I ruled it out as it costs quite a bit more than the more conventional Bike Friday designs and it doesn’t fold as easily.  The PL and NWT are fairly similar with the PL having clearance for wider tires and being a bit more rugged.  I chose the NWT as I don’t see myself doing any unpaved tours with this bike given the very capable full sized touring bikes in my stable.  I also liked the 1.5″ lower BB on the NWT plus it’s such a classic design.  Walter @ Bike Friday was very helpful in providing information and answering my questions as worked my way through the options.

frame/fork & rear wheel/bars

frame/fork & rear wheel/bars

Since it was a custom bike I decided to go with a Nexus 8 IGH drivetrain mated to a double chainring upfront.  I spec’d drop bars for long distance comfort.

The rest of the bits...

The rest of the bits...

I settled on a white powder coat since my bikes always seem to be black or dark green.  The NWT has fenders and front/rear racks so it’s ready to tour.

I love the personalized name plate!

I love the personalized name plate!

If there is any doubt that this bike was custom made for me the personalized name plate should put the matter to rest…=-)


Actions

Information

13 responses

20 01 2009
bikefridaywalter

Like I said before, where’s the ride report, Vik?? :D

20 01 2009
thelazyrando

lol…that’s why this post is Part 1…there is more to come…you can’t play all your cards in the first post…=-)

20 01 2009
Chad

Looks like a great ride. Looking forward to hearing your review and what you think compared to your tikit.

20 01 2009
2whls3spds

Sweet!! Would a Schlumph drive fit the BB? and can you get a dyno hub? I am on the search for a compact/folder for heavier use. Being over standard height and reach causes me some fit issues.

Aaron

20 01 2009
thelazyrando

I don’t know about the Schlumph – although I can’t see why not – best to ask Bike Friday though.

I already have a 20″ [406] wheel with a dynohub from a recumbent I own that I plan to use on my NWT

I’m 6ft which isn’t crazy tall and I have not found any folders other than BF that fit me well.

20 01 2009
Jun

Very nice. I take it the Alfine tensioner doesn’t have enough throw to accommodate the different front chainrings?

20 01 2009
Aaron

Ahh! I remember when my NWT first arrived. Very exciting. Congrats. I’d love to get a closer look at those fenders. They look different than mine which came from Bike Friday as well. I’m curious if they have made some improvements. Any chance for some close up pictures?

20 01 2009
Aaron

Never mind I found the other pictures of your bike at your flickr site. Looks great all put together.

20 01 2009
thelazyrando

I think an Alfine chain tensioner may have had the capacity, but perhaps the Sora der was what was available at the time. I’m keen on seeing if I can run a single front chainring so I may go to a different tensioner when I confirm the gearing that will work for me.

20 01 2009
Patrick

Wow! I am jealous Vik another bike to the stable. How many bikes do you have in your stable? I have 4 which includes a BF tikit and Family Traveler Tandem.

21 01 2009
thelazyrando

How many bikes? Hmmm….Only counting bikes I can actually ride [vs. a frame or a bike I lend out most of the time or a bike at my mother’s place in Easetern Canada…=-)!]

– 1 cargo bike
– 1 folding commuter
– 1 folding touring bike
– 1 recumbent
– 2 touring bikes
– 1 snow/sand bike

….so 8. Not totally crazy!

I am expecting to get a couple more bikes from Bow Cycle on short to long term loan as testers, but since I won’t own them I won’t count them in my totals….=-)

I’m not really riding the recumbent so it may go at some point and I’d like a mountain bike for the 2009 riding season.

21 01 2009
bikefridaywalter

Schlumpf would work but unfortunately you have to do some damage to your frame in the form of chamfering the bottom bracket shell. Still, it wouldn’t get rid of the tensioner because of the bottom bracket being ahead of the hinge (unless you took the chain off before folding).. unless you put it on a tikit!

21 01 2009
Patrick

What type of touring bikes do you have?

Leave a Reply

