Everything I know about bicycles I learned from Sheldon Brown!

17 12 2008

scb_eaglejpegPerhaps that’s overstating the situation….I’ll qualify that with “…everything useful I know about bicycles…”…=-)

Just as an example I was having issues with my chain being too slack on my Pusgley.  Seeing as it’s my first bike with horizontal dropouts I lacked the skill set to get the tension right. I tried 6 or 7 times, but by the time I got the wheel pulled back, straightened and the hub tightened the chain ended up too loose.  I started to think this is a 2 man job, but that didn’t make any sense as people had to ride these bikes alone and deal with removing/installing a wheel.  There had to be an easier way.

I was about to post a question on a bike forum about this when I thought to myself I can’t be the first person to have issues getting their rear wheel adjusted correctly in horizontal dropouts.  So I checked Sheldon Brown’s pages and sure enough he has a page about chain tension on fixed gear bikes.  I read.  I learn.

Then I go back to my Pugsley, lube up the axle nuts and start walking the wheel back as Sheldon describes.  Presto tight chain and straight wheel!  Sweet.  Thanks Sheldon…=-)


Actions

Information

4 responses

17 12 2008
KenF

Sheldon will be missed.

But I still think he is the reason the paint fell off of my road bike.

17 12 2008
doofusdavid

Ditto.

RIP man.

21 12 2008
theenglishpaperstudent

…all this neat stuff about biking. Nice job! Now, how do you keep your electronics dry when out in the field?

15 01 2009
thelazyrando

I don’t carry much in the way of electronics when traveling – usually just:

– wrist watch [waterproof]
– digital camera [in a waterproof bag and I also have a waterproof model]
– GPS [waterproof]

Leave a Reply

